Home Quizzes Refereeing
The Rules > Foil Referee Questions
These are questions from the Foil section of the county level refereeing exam. For this quiz we would ask that you register on the web site and login before you actually do the quiz.
1.    The foil spring must lift a test weight of how many grammes? (m11)
  500 g.
  550 g.
  750 g.
2.    What is the maximum amount of curve that is permitted in a foil blade? (m8)
  4 cm in the vertical plane.
  2 cm in any direction.
  2 cm in the vertical plane near the centre of the blade.
3.    How may the foil blade be bent? (m8)
  up or down.
  down only.
  in any direction.
4.    The conductive over-jacket must cover the valid target of the fencer when: (m28)
  s/he is in the on-guard position.
  s/he is standing upright.
  s/he is standing upright, in the on-guard position and lunging.
5.    Where must the crocodile clip on the bodywire be clipped on to the conductive over jacket? (m29)
  On the opposite side to the sword arm.
  Where the referee can see it.
  On the back on the sword arm side.
6.    Fencer X attacks and scores a hit. The white and coloured lights come. The referee should:
  Not give a hit.
  Give X a hit.
  Not give a hit but should give his opponent a yellow card for a faulty over jacket.
7.    Before the order "play", fencer X comes on guard in the point in line position. The referee should: (t17)
  allow it.
  tell the fencer to come on-guard properly.
  order "play", but not award any hit scored by X's existing line.
8.    When is a hit which arrives off-target counted as valid? (t49)
  when a fencer by reason of an abnormal positioning substitutes non-valid target for valid target.
  when the hit has clearly arrived on a faulty part of the conductive jacket.
  when the opponent's equipment can be shown to be faulty.
9.    Fencer X, in the process of making a low seconde parry, advances the shoulder of his non-sword arm in front of the shoulder of his sword arm. X hits with the immediate riposte. What should the referee do? (t46)
  Give a yellow card to X and annul the hit that was scored by X during the action.
  Give a yellow card to X but allow the hit made by X during the action.
  Ignore the reversal as this is a permitted close quarter action.
10.    Fencer X, in the process of parrying an attack of his opponent, covers his valid target area with his non-sword arm. X hits with his immediate riposte. What should the referee do? (t22)
  Give a yellow card to X and annul the hit that was scored by X.
  Give a yellow card to X and allow the hit that was scored by X.
  Give a red card to X as s/he was warned for this type of action in a previous bout.
11.    The body of the button and the foil blade from the button must be insulated. What length must the insulation on the blade be? (m13)
  10cm
  15cm
  20cm
12.    What is the effect of the failure by a fencer to insulate the button of his/her foil?
  A short can occur which will cancel any hit made.
  A white (off target) light will occur for the fencer who has made the hit.
  A white (off target) light followed by a coloured (good) light will occur for the fencer who has made the hit.
13.    If the wire to the crocodile clip on the bodywire is broken what will the result be?
  Any hit made on that fencer will result in an off target hit being registered for the opponent who has made the hit.
  An off target hit will be registered for the fencer whose wire is broken.
  No hit will be recorded.
14.    Fencers are forbidden to place a non-insulated part of their weapon in contact with their conductive jacket with the intention of jamming the electrical apparatus and thus avoiding being hit. What penalty should a referee apply if a breach of this provision occurs? (t53)
  The referee should give a friendly warning to the fencer concerned.
  The referee should issue a red card and award a penalty hit to the opponent and annul any hit that might have been made by that fencer
  The referee should issue a yellow card and annul any hit that might have been made by that fencer.
15.    Fencer A makes a simple attack which registers a valid hit. Fencer B makes an out-of-time stop hit which although arriving on the target registers as on off-target hit (white light). What should the referee’s decision be? (t54)
  The referee should annul fencer A’s hit as there is a doubt concerning the validity of fencer B’s hit.
  The referee should award the hit to fencer A as that hit has priority over the stop hit made by fencer B.
  The referee should issue a yellow card to fencer A for having a defective jacket but should allow the valid hit.
16.    A valid hit has been scored by fencer A. Immediately after the restart fencer B makes a simple attack which arrives on target but which fails to register. Fencer B then asks the referee to annul fencer A’s previous hit. What decision should the referee make? (t54)
  As the bout has effectively recommenced a competitor cannot claim the annulment of a hit awarded against him/her prior to the restart.
  The referee can annul the hit if he is of the view that fencer B has made no modification to his equipment.
  The referee should annul the hit and should issue a yellow card to fencer B for using defective equipment.
17.    A fencer considers that his/her foil has an intermittent fault. Should the failure in a weapon repeat itself every time a test is made? (t54)
  The failure must occur every time the referee tests the weapon in order that there can be no doubt that the weapon is faulty.
  The referee must test the weapon three times only. If the fault is not repeated then the weapon is held to be not faulty.
  It is not necessary for the failure to repeat itself each time a test is made; but it is essential that the fault should be proved to the referee without the possibility of doubt at least once during the tests made by him/her or under his/her supervision
18.    Fencer A makes a stop hit into his/her opponent’s (fencer B) simple attack. Both hits are recorded as valid and are registered at the same time. What is the referee’s decision? (t60)
  No hits are awarded as the actions are simultaneous.
  Award the hit to fencer A.
  Award the hit to fencer B.
19.    Fencer B makes a simple attack which is parried by fencer A. Fencer A’s riposte and fencer B’s remise of the attack arrive at the same time and are both valid hits. What is the referee’s decision? (t60)
  No hits are awarded as the riposte and the remise arrive at the same time
  Award the hit to fencer A.
  Award the hit to fencer B.
20.    Fencer A has his point in line. Fencer B initiates a simple attack without deflecting fencer A’s weapon. Both hit at the same time. What is the referee’s decision? (t60)
  No hits are awarded as the actions are made at the same time.
  Award the hit to fencer A.
  Award the hit to fencer B
21.    Both fencers attack each other at the same time and both score valid hits. What is the referee’s decision? (t60)
  No hits are awarded as the actions are simultaneous.
  Award the hit to the fencer who is the higher seed.
  Award both hits.
22.    Fencer A attacks but is parried by fencer B. Fencer B’s riposte misses. Both fencers make immediate remises. What is the referee’s decision? (t60)
  No hits are awarded
  Award the hit to fencer A as the remise of the attack has right of way over the remise of the riposte.
  Award the hit to fencer B.
23.    Fencer A attacks fencer B with a simple fleche attack. However, in the process of making the attack s/he bumps into fencer B. Fencer A’s attack arrives as a valid hit. What decision should the referee make? (t20)
  Award the hit to fencer A.
  Award the hit to fencer A but also issue a yellow card to fencer A as s/he caused the corps-a-corps.
  Award no hit and issue a yellow card to fencer A as s/he caused the corps-a-corps.
24.    Fencer A attacks fencer B with a simple fleche attack. Fencer B steps into the path of fencer A and causes corps-a-corps. Fence A’s attack arrives as a valid hit. What decision should the referee make? (t20)
  Award the hit to fencer A.
  Award the hit to fencer A and issue a yellow card to fencer B as s/he caused the corps-a-corps.
  Award no hit but issue a yellow card to fencer B as s/he caused the corps-a-corps.
25.    During play fencer A allows the point of his foil to drag along the electric piste. What action should the referee take? (t46)
  The referee should call ‘halt’ and advise fencer A that this is an unsafe practice.
  The referee should wait until there is a convenient break in the action, when he should advise fencer A not to continue to drag his/her point along the piste.
  The referee should call ‘halt’ and should issue a yellow card to fencer A.

Latest Events

View Full Calendar

Login

Who's Online

No Users Online

Connections

Connection Type:
 


Showing: All...

You have no connections in your friends list!